and Brandon, and the Manitoba School for Mentally Defective Persons at Portage la Prairie; and Community Mental Health Services, responsible for out-patient services, child-guidance clinics, services to courts and child-caring agencies, boarding-home care for the mentally ill, and teaching facilities.

Saskatchewan.—The Department of Public Health has been organized since 1923 under a Minister and a Deputy Minister and consists of 15 Divisions: (1) The Division of Administration co-ordinates the activities of the Department as a whole. (2) The Division of Public Health Nursing conducts a generalized program which includes all phases of public-health nursing, infant and maternal welfare, school work, venereal disease epidemiology, etc. This Division also supervises maternity grants and nursing homes. (3) The Division of Communicable Diseases administers provisions of the Public Health Act relating to control of communicable diseases and regulations relating thereto. It distributes free vaccines and sera to doctors and hospitals and supervises anterior poliomyelitis clinics, boards of health, medical health officers, medical examination of food handlers, burial, disinterment and transportation of the dead and promotes immunization programs. Division of Sanitation has supervision of water-works, sewerage systems and drainage; food supplies including milk; urban and rural sanitation. (5) The Division of Laboratories does routine public-health work in bacteriology, serology, chemistry and pathology and provides clinical diagnostic laboratory service for rural physicians. (6) The Division of Vital Statistics administers the Vital Statistics Act and the Marriage Act. (7) The Division of Mental Services administers the Mental Hygiene Act. Its duties include: the care and treatment of patients in institutions for the mentally ill and mental defectives, and in the psychopathic ward in Regina; and the supervision of mental hygiene clinics in connection with the preventive work of mental hygiene. (8) The Division of Venereal Disease Control administers a program for the control of venereal disease, which is divided into the following functional sections: diagnostic and treatment services; epidemiology; and education. (9) The Division of Health Education conducts a wide program of education for the purpose of modifying public opinion and attitudes in favour of higher standards of personal and community health. (10) The Division of Nutrition is largely educational in function, creating interest in better food habits; emphasis is placed on nutrition of children with special attention to school lunches. (11) The Division of Medical Services supervises payment of grants to physicians, dentists and approved hospitals for adequate medical services to needy residents in any part of the Province outside municipal jurisdiction; insulin is supplied free to diabetics who are unable to purchase it; medical, hospital and drug services are provided to old age and blind pensioners and their dependents, and to recipients of mothers' allowances and their children. (12) The Division of Physical Fitness and Recreation stimulates, organizes and assists social, cultural and athletic activities. Division of Industrial Hygiene provides a consulting service for management, labour and governmental agencies on matters pertaining to industrial health. (14) The Division of Air Ambulance Service, by means of two specially equipped Norseman craft, staffed by pilots, nurses and engineers, provides emergency service at a nominal charge of \$25 per flight. (15) The Division of Dental Hygiene became operative on Jan. 1, 1947.

Health Regions.—The Province has been divided into 14 proposed health regions, five of which have been established: Swift Current No. 1; Weyburn-Estevan No. 3; Assiniboia No. 2; Moose Jaw No. 6; Meadow Lake No. 14.